Terms Of Use Privacy Statement

Kuwait mulls banning entry to citizens of 10 countries

Latest News Kuwait City 24 Jun 22
Kuwait mulls banning entry to citizens of 10 countries
Kuwait is studying a proposal to ban all types of visas given to expats from 10 countries, mostly African, because they do not have embassies in Kuwait, local media reported.
Event Location
Kuwait, Kuwait
Kuwait City
Start Time
24 June 2022, 12:00 AM
End Time
31 July 2022, 12:00 AM

Kuwait’s Interior Ministry is currently considering banning all types of visas to citizens of 10 countries, including seven African states: Madagascar, Ghana, Cameroon, Ivory Coast, Benin, Mali and Congo, according to Arabic daily Al Qabas reports.

The three other non-African countries have not been identified. These countries do not have embassies in Kuwait although there are thousands of their citizens working in Kuwait, making the deportation of violators and those involved in crimes difficult.

The newspaper said the deportation of convicted expatriate residents from the 10 countries is a very complex and time-consuming process, posing a threat to the country’s security.

Another reason is that there are no direct flights between Kuwait and these countries.

Local media indicated that some violators from these countries deliberately conceal or destroy their passports, making it difficult for security services because there are no embassies in Kuwait where they can get travel documents issued for the deported people to be able to leave the country.

Kuwait ban citizens Africa

Popular Events

Related Events